Skip to main content


Home >

About Labs@LightCity

Innovation Partner: Brown Advisory

Light City is the nation's only large-scale international light and ideas festival. Immerse yourself in the light and art. Explore the neighborhoods. Challenge your perspectives in the Labs@LightCity. Experience Baltimore's brilliance.

Celebrating its third year in 2018, Labs@LightCity is one of the largest and most unique social innovation convenings in the US.

Each day emerging voices and established thinkers explore the innovations and practices that build stronger, more equitable cities. Each Lab explores the future of society and every attendee will have the opportunity to learn, network and be heard.

Dates: Wednesday, April 18 - Saturday, April 21, 2018
Location: The IMET Columbus Center, 700 E. Pratt Street, Pier 5, Inner Harbor

New for 2018:

  • “Pay What You Can” ticketing. Attendees must register but can choose to pay what they can to participate in the Labs, including attending at no-cost.
  • A fresh format featuring seven topics in a compelling and energetic four-day schedule.
  • The addition of a new Lab focused on Makers.
  • Pitch competition presented by IFundWomen, supported by the Baltimore Ravens.
  • Kindling: Community Collaboration Gathering
    • Participants in the Labs will join residents from across Baltimore in guided conversations meant to deepen understanding and connection, discover, share and celebrate Baltimore’s rich and diverse community.

Chair & Leadership Curators

Labs@LightCity is chaired by Jamie McDonald, past Light City Chair and CEO of Generosity Inc. Each Lab is shaped by a group of curators consisting of artists, activists, community leaders, executives and entrepreneurs. The curators for Labs@LightCity 2018 are Lisa Akchin, Jackie Bello, Ed Berlin, John Brothers, Jacquelyn Bullock, Jeff Cherry, Summer Cullen, Heidi Daniel, Raoul Edwards, David Fakunle, Shelia Goodwin, Beth Harber, Steve Häsler, Roz Healy, Kathy Hornig, Anana Kambon, Karon McFarlane, Jesse Salazar, Donna Sawyer, Atman Smith, Khalid  Smith, Emma Snyder, Jess Solomon, Rashad Staton, Jimmie Thomas, Randi Vega, and Chip Watkins.

Currently showing ${ currentlyShown } of ${ maxToShow } results.

Currently showing ${ currentlyShown } of ${ maxToShow } results.

Load ${ availableForNextLoad } More