Brilliant Baltimore is an initiative spearheaded by the Baltimore Office of Promotion & The Arts (BOPA), to encourage local businesses to light their buildings during Light City. In an effort to make Downtown Baltimore and the surrounding neighborhoods vibrant for the festival, BOPA is encouraging local businesses, institutions, garages, residential buildings, marinas, universities and neighbors, to use the Light City colors to light up their building façade and landscaping. The goal is to have Baltimore shine and generate civic pride by participating and creating an even more spectacular annual event for 2017.
Downtown – Central Business District
Baltimore Center Stage
700 North Calvert Street 21202
Baltimore Center Stage recently completed a $28 million renovation to its theater on Calvert Street as part of a $32 million campaign to transform its building, community and educational programming and artistic initiatives. The renovated space includes a new education center, costume shop, café and cars, as well as a redesigned Head Theater and a new 99-seat Third Space.
Baltimore Convention Center
One West Pratt Street 21201
Bishop L. Robinson, Sr., Police Administration Building
601 East Fayette Street 21202
Baltimore Police Department-Central District
500 East Baltimore Street 21202
100 North Holliday Street
Baltimore’s official seat of government since 1875.
BEACON ON THE HILL at the Washington Monument
Mount Vernon Place Conservancy
Every Evening during Light City
699 Washington Place 21201
Special Lighting Installation sponsored by Lewis Contractors
For nearly two centuries the Washington Monument has been a beacon on its hilltop in Mount Vernon Place. In honor of Light City, the Monument will be a modern beacon with the installation of four high-power sky beams which will frame it from all directions. During Light City, the Monument will be open to visitors Fri. 11am-9pm, Sat. 10am-9pm, Sun. 10am-5pm, and Wed. & Thurs. 11am-3pm. Come during our open hours to see our free gallery with interactive exhibits, or climb to the lookout ($6 adults, $4 children) to see the city from above. Or–just stop by in the evenings to take in the Monument lit up at night!
Bromo Seltzer Arts Tower
21 South Eutaw Street 21201
Baltimore’s skyline would not be same without its iconic BROMO SELTZER ARTS TOWER. The tallest building in Baltimore when built in 1911, with the largest four-dial , gravity driven, non-chiming clock in the world designed by Seth Thomas. Originally it was the home of The Emerson Drug Company, which manufactured the world renowned headache remedy, Bromo Seltzer. Until 1936 there revolved atop the tower a 51 ft. bottle topped with an 18 ft. crown filled with 596 lights. Following a building restoration in 2007 the Baltimore Office of Promotion & The Arts reopened the tower offering 30 studios for artists, photographers, jewelers and writers to create. The historic building has many stories to tell and shares its rich tales with history talks and visits into the clock room and Bromo Museum every Saturday when guest can also view and buy art and visit with the artists throughout the building.
400 West Lexington Street 21201
The country’s oldest continually run Public Market since 1782; Lexington Market is home to over 100 small business vendors. featuring both fresh staples and iconic prepared foods such as Faidley’s Crab Cake and the Berger Cookie. Lexington Market is Baltimore’s Public Market.
Mercy Medical Center
301 St. Paul Street 21202
Mercy Medical Center is dedicated to providing world class care to those in need-a tradition that began when the first Sisters of Mercy arrived in Baltimore in 1874 to take charge of a small infirmary on the same block of St. Paul Place, that is now home to Mercy Medical Center. As the first Sisters of Mercy did over 140 years ago, we continue to welcome everyone who comes through our doors.
Light Tunnel on St. Paul Street
400 St. Paul Street (in front of Mercy Hospital)
Date: Thursday, April 6, 2017
Dine Downtown will host the LIT CITY Dance Party on Thursday, April 6, 2017 from 8-11pm. Join us as we celebrate, light, music, and food under the Light Tunnel on St. Paul Street. Each ticket includes a three hour open bar and food from five of Baltimore’s top restaurants. Bring your dancing shoes- DJ Cory T will spin live under the neon lights.
Tickets at DineDowntownBaltimore.com. Ages 21 and over, IDs checked at the entrance. #DineBaltimore
Reginald F. Lewis Museum
830 East Pratt Street 21202
A multi award-winning architectural gem in Baltimore. The building’s Red Wall of Freedom rises dramatically next to the Inner Harbor and symbolizes a people’s triumph over adversity. The towering, black granite walls represent Strength. The impressive structure provided a focal point and anchor to the west end of Baltimore’s busy corridor, Pratt Street.
St. Paul Street between Lexington and Fayette streets
An historic public plaza in the heart of Charles Center.
The Walters Art Museum
12 West Centre Street 21201
Originally opened in 1974, this building’s 1998-2001 renovations include a 4-story glass atrium, a Family Art Center, an enlarged Museum Store, a new Museum Café, and expanded laboratories for painting, object and manuscript conversation as well as new manuscript exhibition space.
Kaiser Permanente Baltimore Harbor Medical Center
815 East Pratt Street 21202
LED light bars will illuminate the windows of the Kaiser Permanente Baltimore Harbor Medical Center garage, creating a glowing effect as the sun sets. The lights will be white every night of the festival, except Monday, April 3, when they will turn to orange to celebrate Opening Day of the Baltimore Orioles.
Light Up Charles Street
200-500 blocks of Charles Street
Historic and Cultural Center of Baltimore will be lit up with specials at restaurants and retail shops.
UMBC SPARK Gallery
Calvert & Water streets
UMBC SPARK, a pop-up gallery of engaging, projection-based artworks, will be open at Calvert and Water streets from 5 – 10 p.m. during Baltimore’s Light City Festival. Made possible through the vision and generosity of PNC, the gallery is produced by the Downtown Partnership of Baltimore and features the work of UMBC faculty and graduate students. UMBC SPARK also features a schedule of performances, events, and interactive activities. The gallery is curated by Joe Reinsel, a Baltimore-based artist who uses new media, video, and sound to explore ideas about architectural space, time, and touch. In keeping with the city-wide spirit of Light City, UMBC SPARK is planned as part of a larger initiative by Downtown Partnership and PNC Bank to expand activity during Light City into additional areas of Baltimore, bringing pedestrian and economic attention to businesses outside the Festival’s footprint, including cafes, hotels, the QG Department Store, Hotel RL, and Chesapeake Shakespeare Company. For more information, visit lightcity.umbc.edu/umbc-spark.
Chase Brexton Health Care at Mt. Vernon
1111 N. Charles Street 21201
BGE Headquarters Building
2 Center Plaza
Engine 6, Truck 1, BC2 1100 Hillen Street, 21202
100 East Pratt
100 East Pratt Street is a Class A, 663,000 square-foot office building situated in a prestigious location at Baltimore’s Inner Harbor. Originally constructed in 1973-75 as a 10-story office building the building was renovated and improved in 1991 with the addition of a 28-story tower, 2 story lobby, ground-level retail, fitness and conference center and an 8-level parking structure. Interesting design features include a striking presence on the skyline with the LED lighting system within the elaborate metal roof “hat” truss system designed to represent waterfront imagery of ships’ rigging and masts; a grand lobby with a 28-foot high curved feature wall that echoes the nautical theme of the top with exotic wood, stainless steel columns and illuminated glass panels; the lobby additionally boasts a 28’ high mural wall, painted in 2016 by local artist Michael Owen. 100 East Pratt will celebrate the Brilliant Baltimore Light City festival and showcase festival colors on the top of the building!
750 East Pratt Street
Class A Office Building in CBD Baltimore, 336,462 rsf; major tenants: Venable LLP & Hord Coplan Macht; developed in 2002.
Lighted Beach Volleyball
300 Key Highway 21230
For the past 15 years, Beach Volleyball, located on Rash Field at the Inner Harbor, is where locals and tourists have fun.
501 East Pratt Street
The National Aquarium opened 1981 as a nonprofit aquatic education and conservation organization, the jewel of Baltimore City’s Inner Harbor redevelopment. With a mission to inspire conservation of the world’s aquatic treasures, the Aquarium is consistently ranked as one of the nation’s two top aquariums and has hosted over 51 million guests since opening.
During the 1970’s, then –Baltimore Mayor William Donald Schaefer conceived and championed the idea of an aquarium as a vital component in the redevelopment of Baltimore’s Inner Harbor. In 1976, Baltimore City residents voted on a bond referendum in favor of building an aquarium in Baltimore. Groundbreaking for the facility on Pier 3 took place on August 8, 1978. In 1979, the new aquarium was recognized by the United States Congress, which granted the facility “national” status. The National Aquarium in Baltimore opened to the public August 8, 1981.
The Aquarium’s original building, Blue Wonders: Reefs to Rainforests, was designed by notable architect Peter Chermayeff of Cambridge Seven Associates in Boston, MA. It measures 115,000 square feet. The Pier 4 Pavilion is a 94,000-square foot building designed by Grieves Associates of Baltimore, which opened to the public in December 1990. The 65,400-square-foot Glass Pavilion, which opened December 2005, was also designed by Peter Chermayeff. It features the award-winning Australia: Wild Extremes exhibit, a 6,640-square-ffot café, a 5,000-square-foor gift shop and a remarkable 35-foot waterfall. Currently, the National Aquarium is Maryland’s largest paid tourist attraction, with more than 20,000 fish, birds, amphibians, reptiles and marine mammals living in award-winning habitats.
Maryland Science Center
601 Light Street 21230
Built in 1976 and this Inner Harbor location celebrated its 40th year in 2016.
McCormick & Schmick’s
711 Eastern Avenue 21202
Downtown Inner Harbor next to the Seven Foot Knoll Lighthouse.
201 East Pratt Street
In the heart of the Inner Harbor directly in front of the USS Constellation and Inner Harbor Amphitheatre.
Pride of Baltimore II
Pier 1-Inner Harbor
Cross the gangway and come aboard to learn about Baltimore’s tall ship, Pride of Baltimore II. Explore the deck and talk to her captain and crew. Learn about the history of Baltimore Clippers and Pride; or hear from a crew member what it is like to sail a tall ship today. The Pride of Baltimore II will be illuminated & open for free deck tours every night of Light City on Pier 1.
Spirit of Baltimore and Inner Harbor Spirit
561 Light Street 21202
The Spirit of Baltimore and Inner Harbor Spirit are located in the Inner Harbor and offer dining cruises traveling along the Patapsco.
Top of the World Observation Level
401 East Pratt Street 21202
For over 35 years, Top of the World continues to showcase the city of Baltimore’s proud deep and dynamic history and contributions, vibrant innovation and invention, and diverse cultural activities and communities. The 360 degree view from the Top of the World Observation Level the Baltimore World Trade Center – is truly breathtaking and spectacular. The eyes feast on the ONLY panoramic view of the Inner Harbor and beyond – Port of Baltimore, Federal Hill, Locust Point and Fort McHenry to the South; Oriole Park at Camden Yards, B&O Railroad Museum to the West; Downtown’s buildings and Towson to the North; and, Johns Hopkins Hospital, Patterson Park to the East – to name just a few. Come see for yourself – discover what Baltimore has to offer!
Engine 21, Medic 19 | 3724 Roland Ave., 21211
Baltimore Police – Northern District
2201 West Coldspring Lane 21215
Loyola University Maryland
4501 North Charles Street 21210
Luminous Connections -In celebration of the power of connectivity, this exhibition will create a luminous experience for the viewer by bringing together several creative disciplines. The campus center will be transformed into a glowing display featuring student work from Theater, Photography, and Studio Art. Outdoor video projections on campus buildings, interactive light displays, theatrical light explosions and projected photography installations will fill the area inside and outside of McManus Theater. This exhibition signals the emergence of light from the darkness of winter. Occurring weeks after the vernal equinox, we aim to enliven the campus with an interdisciplinary experience of light in its many forms of expression.
Moorish Tower, Druid Hill Park
3001 East Drive 21217
Designed and built by George Frederick in 1870, the Moorish Tower remains an impressive sight for anyone visiting Druid Hill Park or driving on the Jones Falls Expressway. The structure stands over 30 feet tall with 18-inch wide solid marble walls. Inside, early visitors found a spiral iron staircase leading to an observation deck with an astonishing view of Jones Falls valley and the city beyond.
For decades, cyclists, pedestrians and carriage riders enjoyed the tower as a place to rest and look out over the city. In 1910, visitors crowded into the tower, lined the walkway and covered the hillside to watch the dedication of the Union Soldiers and Sailors memorial. Later the same year, picnickers and families traveled to the Moorish Tower searching for the best vantage point to view an airship as it traveled over Baltimore.
As time went on the tower began to deteriorate, the Park commissioners debated dismantling the structure. Not only was the tower considered to be “on the way”, but the rusted iron staircase and crumbling walls were viewed as a safety hazard for those visitors hoping to still use it as an observation deck. Fortunately, the high cost of demolition and enduring affection for a local landmark encouraged the restoration of the Moorish Tower.
The rusted staircase was removed, the entrance sealed off, loose blocks and the base of the tower were reinforced. The renewal of this iconic landmark has helped to encourage a broader revitalization of Druid Hill Park supported by residents, park advocates and Baltimore City.” Jessi Dean, BaltimoreHeritage.org
2601 North Howard Street 21218
Erected between 1890 and 1910, Miller’s Court was once home to the inventor of the seamless tin box, the H.F. Miller and Son Tin Box and Can Manufacturing Plant. Considered state of the art, the facility was known for its innovative use of modern machinery. Redeveloped under the latest green design and building methods, the historic building has found new purpose-providing elegant, affordable living and commercial space and a vibrant, supportive environment where our educators and nonprofits can collaborate and thrive.
Corner of 27th Street & Remington Avenue 21211
The Remington sculpture won the Baltimore of Promotion and The Arts “Transformative Art” Grant Award. The proposal included partnering with Seawall Development and GRIA (Greater Remington Improvement Association). The structure is 30 feet tall with an 8x 15 foot base area. It is made from welded 6061-T6 Aluminum. Artist: Dominic Terlizzi
Corner of 29th Street & Remington Avenue 21211
Over the past two years, we’ve assembled a group of ten chefs ready to launch new restaurants while transforming the old Anderson Body Shop into a 350-seat food hall with roll-up garage doors, booth & bierhall tables, and an incredible neighborhood bar at the center of it all. This is your living room, your kitchen, your office, your new hangout spot, your Baltimore stoop, your happy place. It’s R. House.
Engine 36 | 2249 Edmondson Ave., 21223
Baltimore Police Department-Western District
1034 North Mount Street 21217
Squad 40, Truck 12, BC5 | 3906 Liberty Heights Avenue, 21207
Engine Company 13, Truck 16 | 405 McMechen Street, 21217
Engine 29 | 4312 Park Heights Ave., 21215
Engine 8, Truck 10 | 1503 W. Lafayette Ave., 21217
Pennsylvania Ave Main Street
828 North Carrollton Ave 21217
Baltimore Police – Eastern District
1620 Edison Highway 21213
Baltimore Police – Northeastern District
1900 Argonne Drive 21218
Engine 42 | 4522 Harford Rd., 21214
Truck 30, Squad 54 | 5821 Belair Rd., 21206
Engine 33, Truck Company 5 | 805 E. 25st Street, 21218
Waverly Main Street
3302 Greenmount Ave 21218
Belair-Edison Main Street
3412 Belair Road 21213
Hamilton-Lauraville Main Street
5500 Harford Road 21214
Baltimore Police – Northwestern District
5271 Reisterstown Road 21215
2401 West Belvedere Avenue 21215
Founded in 1866 as the Hebrew Hospital and Asylum, Sinai Hospital of Baltimore is a Jewish-sponsored health care organization providing care for all people. It is a nonprofit institution with a mission of providing quality patient care, teaching and research. Sinai Hospital of Baltimore provided a broad array of high-quality, cost-effective health and health-related services to the people for greater Baltimore.
American Visionary Art Museum
800 Key Highway 21230
Since its opening in 1995, AVAM is America’s congressionally designated museum and education center for self-taught intuitive artistry. Three renovated, historic, industrial buildings house wonders created by artists inspired by the fire within.
Baltimore Police Department-Southern District
10 Cherry Hill Road 21225
Engine 35, Truck 21 | 430 Maude Ave., 21225
Peter J. O’Conner Fire Station
1001 East Fort Ave 21230
Engine 55, Truck 23 | 1229 Bush Street, 21230
1200 Steuart Street 21230
Highly visible from I-95 north and south. Former grain elevator transformed into luxury condominiums and mixed-use development.
M&T Bank Stadium –Home of the Baltimore Ravens
1101 Russell Street 21230
Completed in 1998, M&T Bank Stadium is a LEED-certified, 71,008-seat stadium nestled in downtown Baltimore. Home of the Baltimore Ravens, M&T Bank Stadium also hosts several high school football, soccer and lacrosse games as well as music and entertainment events.
Federal Hill Main Street
42 East Cross Street 21230
Pigtown Main Street
763 Washington Boulevard 21230
The Harborview Towers
One HarborView Drive 21230
The HarborView Towers is a 27-story condominium building located on the waterfront. Opened in 1993, HarborView is home to the Beacon, a glass enclosure which recently upgraded to include an environmentally friendly LED lighting system to light up the Baltimore Skyline.
Under Armour Headquarters
1020 Hull Street, Baltimore, MD 21230
Truck 20 | 5714 Eastern Ave., 21224
Edge Evolution Hair Studio
1008 Eastern Avenue 21202
La Scala Ristorante
1012 Eastern Avenue 21202
Sabatino’s Italian Restaurant
901 Fawn Street 21202
The KOHLER Signature Store by Thos. Somerville Co.
300 Albemarle Street 2120
300 Albemarle Street was built in 1920. The brick structure occupies the corner of Albemarle and Fawn Streets in Littlie Italy. It has been home to several different restaurants since that time, Maria’s, Russo’s and most recently Mama Cellinas. Maria’s was a popular destination for many celebrities including Frank Sinatra. Suring Prohibition the basement was home to a speakeasy-location for patrons to secretly purchase alcohol. Tunnels were built out of the basement in two different areas for those escaping the law should the speakeasy be raided.
The building was purchased in 1999 by Peter Angelos and gain in 2005 by a DC Real Estate development company. A renovation to the interior and exterior was done by the Real Estate firm but, the building has remained vacant since Mama Cellinas closed approximately 25 years ago. Thos. Somerville purchased the property in 2014 to build Kohler Signature Store, one of only seven in the US.
Tours of the building can be conducted during normal business hours: Sunday 11-5, Monday, Thursday, Friday and Saturday 10-6 and Tuesday and Wednesday 10-8.
Vaccaro’s Italian Pastry Shop, Inc.
222 Albemarle Street 21202
Two story brick building housing Vaccaro’s retail and sit-down café.
Fell’s Point Main Street
1632 Aliceanna Street 21231
Fell’s Point is participating as a Main Street
Community showcasing out creative and history flavor which has been in existence since the 1700’s. We are in addition a vibrant community and would like to showcase that as well.
800 block Aliceanna Street 21202
Harbor East – 12 blocks of shopping, dining & endless possibilities. Steps from the Inner harbor, miles from anything else like it.
Engine Company 41 | 520 S. Conkling Street, 21224
Engine 5 | 2120 Eastern Ave 21231
Baltimore Police-Southeastern District
5710 Eastern Ave 21224
S.S. John Brown/Project Liberty Ship, Inc.
March 31-April 1 – Broadway Pier/Privateer Festival
April 2-April 8 – Pier C at 2020 South Clinton Street
Project Liberty Ship is a non-profit organization dedicated to educating by preserving and operating the Liberty Ship S.S. John Brown as a living memorial to the men and women who built the great Liberty fleet and to the merchant seaman and Naval Armed Guard who sailed the ships across the oceans of the world.
Dypski Park in Canton
1225 South Ellwood Street 21224
Dypski Park is a 2.5 acre “pocket park” at 1225 South Ellwood Ave. across Boston Street from the Canton Waterfront Park on the north side of the DuBurns Arena. The sire contains a wading pool and playground equipment. Participating only April 1 5pm – 10 pm.
Harbor Point & Fell’s Point
Baltimore’s vibrant history and bright future come together to celebrate Light City! Starting at Dock Street, follow the waterfront promenade through Harbor Point into historic Fell’s Point along Thames Street. Enjoy lights, games and interactive exhibits as we “connect the Points” between and throughout the two neighborhoods!
Highlandtown Main Street
3323 Eastern Ave. 21224
Germano’s PIATTINI and Cabaret
300 S. High St. 21202
The building that houses Germano’s PIATTINI and Cabaret was constructed as two residences in the late 1700’s. The first commercial use was as Pisa’s and the original terrazzo floor reveals a “P” at the South High Street entrance. The restaurant changed hands and was known as the infamous Casa Bianca (“White House”), a gambler’s den, until the present tenant acquired the building in 1978. The restaurant was first known as “Trattoria Petrucci”, then “Germano’s Trattoria,” and since the 2014 renovations has operated as “Germano’s PIATTINI and Cabaret”, owned by Executive Chef Germano Fabiani and his wife, Cyd Wolf, who serves as the Executive Producer of the Cabaret at Germano’s.
Scene 217 Salon
217 Albemarle Street 21202
Located in Little Italy, originally Vaccaro’s Bakery.
James Joyce Irish Pub
616 President Street 21202